Dear Colleagues,

Happy New Year! Our 1st clinical meeting this year will be on 17/02/2017. As you may know, our Family Therapy Conference this year is titled “Family Therapy and Social Justice”. In order to align our clinical meeting with the conference theme,  we will start our 1st meeting of the year with a Special Panel on the topic “Family Therapy and Social Justice.”

Date: 17/02/17 Friday
5:30 registration for 6:00pm starts
Venue: Relationship Australia, Springhill, 159 St Pauls Terrace, Spring Hill QLD 4000

Topic: “Family Therapy and Social Justice” – A Special Panel Discussion
Our invited panel members will discuss their views on this topic and share their insight and experience.

Chairperson: Ms Sally Young
Well known family therapist in Child and Youth Mental Health Services

Panel Members: Dr Peta Briner – Well known family therapist and trainer in Brisbane
Mr Andrew Barlett – Senator for Queensland from 1997-2008. Extensive experience in policy development campaigning, representation, public speaking, political strategy.
Specialties: Immigration, environment, human rights, housing, advocacy, policy, campaigning, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues
Ms Amanda Hendren – Psychologist with extensive experience in working with dual disability and currently working at Metro South Addiction & Mental Health as Senior Dual Disability Coordinator.
Mr Nikolas Winter-Simat – Program Coordinator of Arethusa College working with disengaged male youths.

Light refreshment will be provided.
Cost: AAFT members – Free – Non members – $10:00
For planning purpose, please RSVP to this invitation by 14th February, 2017. I am looking forward to seeing you all on the 17th February, 2017

Raymond Ho BSW; MSW; AMHSW; AAFT Clin.; Certified Gottman Therapist
AAFT QLD Branch Representative


The Association was founded at an inaugural meeting on 14th February,1980, following the recommendations of the Steering Committee that had been set up in 1979.

The proposed aims and objectives of QAFT were broadly to establish a self-help association which had the potential to develop appropriately as family therapy expertise and the requirements of the professional culture changed.

The inaugural President was Dr. Martin Nothling, Treasurer was Dr. Jane Bradbear and Secretary Robin Darracott. Other foundation members were Dr. C. Breakey, Dr. R. Anderson, K. Lannoy, J. Humphreys, S. Kehoe, V. Johnson, C. Duffy, N. Renouf, P. Kershaw, D. Bernadette, T. Kamholtz, S.Mills, Dr. M. McCouatt, C. McCouatt, Dr. E. McKenzie, J. Dark, P. Robinson, C. Warren, Dr. J. Lawrence, Dr. B. Blicharski, H. Pavlin, L. Jones, Dr. R. Grant, P. Glynn, G. Dean.

Membership grew from the original 28 in February 1980, to nearly 200 at its peak in 2004. It developed a Code of Practice, sponsored Professional Development workshops and held regular Clinical meetings.

In 2001 QAFT added the new membership category of Clinical Member in recognition of the need to provide a way for those with specialist qualifications could be identified. Membership was originally restricted to psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers and nurses. This extra level of Membership gave QAFT three classes of members, Clinical Members, General members and Associate / student members. This allowed membership is drawn from a broad professional base.

The Association has run highly successful national family therapy conferences, in 1983, 1991, 1998, 2004, and 2008.

QAFT joined PACFA (Psychotherapies and Counselling Federation of Australia) as a Member Association in 1998.

In 2012 QAFT joined with other state family therapy associations to establish the Australian Association of Family Therapy.